The Attleboro Area Interfaith Collaborative was founded on May 8, 1946 with nineteen churches as charter members including eleven from Attleboro, and the YMCA. Today our participants and supporters have grown to include over 100 churches of diverse denominations, the Interfaith group and Agudas Achim synagogue servicing 13 towns in the Attleboro area (Attleboro, North Attleboro, Norton, Rehoboth, Taunton, Mansfield, Foxboro, Plainville, Walpole, Seekonk, Easton, Norfolk, and Wrentham).

For 23 years, the Masonic Temple in Attleboro served as the first “home” for the AAIC offices.  In 1970, the offices were moved to Murray Universalist Church, Attleboro. In 2002 the offices were located at 7 North Main St in Attleboro. Today the Attleboro Area Interfaith Collaborative is located at 95 Pine Street, Attleboro, in the old Richardson School.    

On January 24, 2017, the Attleboro Area Council of Churches changed its name to Attleboro Area Interfaith Collaborative. The new name was chosen to better reflect the vision of the founders to promote dialogue between diverse houses of worship and honor the diversity of the faith beliefs of its volunteers and the community-at-large.

Attleboro Area Interfaith Collaborative has been led by 8 executives: the Rev. Daniel Potter, the Rev. Arthur Rinden, the Rev. Robert Ryder, Carolyn L. Bronkar, Elaine Gaetani, Dorothy Embree, and Kat Wright.

Lisa Piscatelli is the 8th and current Executive Director.

The emergency food and homeless prevention programs operating under the auspices of the Attleboro Area Interfaith Collaborative include Food n’ Friends Daily Kitchens, Family Cafes, Kids Summer Cafes and Homes With Heart. We also employ the certified interfaith Chaplain at Sturdy Memorial Hospital.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *